ArchiTeam 2012
Twitter ArchiTeam
Facebook ArchiTeam
Google+ ArchiTeam
Flickr ArchiTeam
Linkedin ArchiTeam
Pinterest ArchiTeam
RSS Point Of View
Architeam || Promoting Architecture

Point Of View by Architeam

become a friend archipaper
Kim Herforth Nielsen

Kim Herforth Nielsen

Country: Denmark
Visit website


Architect MAA/RIBA, Kim Herforth Nielsen, born 1954, is Founder and Principal of 3XN. Kim Herforth Nielsen graduated from the Aarhus School of Architecture in 1981 and was one of the three Nielsen-founders in 1986. Ever since he has been the driving force behind 3XN, and been involved in all the practice’s major projects, including The Blue Planet, Kubus in Berlin, Museum of Liverpool, Ørestad College, Muziekgebouw Concert Hall in Amsterdam, the Danish Embassy in Berlin and the Architects’ House in Copenhagen. Kim Herforth Nielsen is often called upon as a jury member in international architectural competitions, and as lecturer at art academies and universities around the world. Kim Herforth Nielsen is a Knight of Dannebrog and has received Denmark’s highest architectural honor, the C.F. Hansen Medaille.

Year of birth

Architect MAA, graduated from the Aarhus School of Architecture, 1981.

Founder, Principal, Partner and Artistic Director.

Member of Danske ARK (Danish Architects’ Assoc.) Membership no 6427- 280354.
Chartered member of RIBA, UK. Membership number 10953725.
Member of UN Global Compact.

Honorary Office Jury member and Distinctions
Jury member, World Architecture Festival 2008, 2009
Jury member, Architectural Review’s Awards for Emerging Architecture 2006
Jury member, The Architects’ Association of Denmark
External examiner at the Royal Danish Academy of Art
Member of PAR’s Prize Committee
Member of the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts
C. F. Hansen Medal – the highest order among architects in Denmark, 2009
Knight of Dannebrog, 2000
The Eckersberg Medaille, 1999
Awards: RIBA (2005, 2007, 2009), Mipim (2004, 2006)

Project Experience
3XN (1986-) selected projects:
• Frederiksberg Courthouse, Copenhagen, DK (2009
• Bridge over Copenhagen Inner Harbour, pedestrian bridges, Copenhagen, DK (2009)
• Dublin Concert Hall, Dublin, IE (2009)
• Daimler, head office, Stuttgart-Untertürkheim, DE (2009)
• Horten, head office, Tuborg Harbour, DK (2006-2009)
• CPH Arch, 2 towers and a bridge, Copenhagen, DK (2008)
• KPMG, head office, Copenhagen, DK (2008-2011)
• Marmormolen, masterplan, Copenhagen, DK, 1. prize (2008)
• The Blue Planet, new Denmark’s Aquarium, Copenhagen, DK, 1. prize (2008-2013)
• Z-Raderna, dwellings, Stockholm, SE, 1. prize (2008-)
• Kubus, Berlin, DE, 1. prize (2007-)
• Theatre and Jazzhouse in Molde, NO, 1. prize. (2007-2011)
• Lighthouse, mixed use, Aarhus, DK, 1. prize (2006-)
• Rainbow, mixed use, Dublin, IE, 2. prize (2006-)
• Bella Hotel, Copenhagen, DK, 1. prize (2006-2011)
• Horsens Stadium, DK, 1. prize (2006-2009)
• Middelfart Savings Bank, DK, 1. prize (2006-2010)
• Stadshuis Nieuwegein, NL (2006-2011)
• Arts and Media Centre, University of Salford, Manchester, UK, 1. prize (2005-)
• Museum of Liverpool, UK, 1. prize (2005-2010)
• Saxo Bank, head office, Tuborg Havn, DK, 1. prize (2005-2008)
• Muziekgebouw, Amsterdam, NL (2005)
• Deloitte Building, Copenhagen, DK (2001-2005)
• Technical School in Tangen, Kristiansand, NO, 1. prize (2004-2009)
• Ørestad College, Copenhagen, DK, 1. prize (2003-2007)
• Alsion, university, science park and concert hall, Sønderborg, DK, 1. prize (2002-2007)
• DFDS Terminal, Copenhagen, DK (2003-2004)
• Danish Embassy in Berlin, DE (1999)
• Architect’s House, Copenhagen, DK (1996)