Address: 50 St Peter St | SALEM-MASSACHUSETTS | United States
Latitude/Longitude: 42.5244, -70.89333
The original jail building, constructed in 1813, with an addition by Gridley Bryant in 1884, contains 17 two-bedroom, two-bath condos, and a restaurant; the jail keeper’s house, attributed to Samuel McIntire, was converted to three private entry homes; the carriage house hosts a single unit and exhibit space; a new building houses eight two-bedroom, two-bath duplex homes. The complex fronts onto a landscaped courtyard. Many jailhouse details were preserved and integrated within the public spaces. Finegold Alexander worked cooperatively with the local Historic Commission and Planning Board to create this unique renewal.
Contributed by Finegold Alexander Architects
⇒ Architecture Guide to SALEM-MASSACHUSETTS
⇒ Learn more about: